Winchester’s Fashionable Women #2

The second in our series of Winchester women who have made it in the fashion world.

Name: Sarah Bacchus

Work: SLB Style Ltd

Connection to Winchester: Lives and works here

Bio: Sarah owns and jointly runs SLB Style with her business partner Hannah. Sarah is widely regarded as one of the best nail technicians in the country and has worked on fashions shoots, catwalks and in films as well as being an educator for Artistic Nail Design and taking private clients. Not only that but with her own education in Fashion Design Technology Sarah provides a personalised styling service and is an expert with Art Deco make-up, HD brows, LVL lashes, Beach Bum spray tans and Faith Lift facials. Sarah provides these services to clients in her Winchester Salon as well as running her training academy. Watch this space www.winchestersbestkeptsecret.com for more information on Sarah and Hannah’s new ventures due to be unveiled this summer.

www.slbstyle.com

Growing up on The Isle Of White you haven’t always lived here. What do you notice about Winchester’s specific style?

Yes, Winchester is a bit more classic than most cities and obviously the shops are very different from other high streets. I notice that here the ladies look a bit more London dressed as obviously you have a lot of people who work in London who are living here and commuting. Also there’s a slight country casuals look about the place, most of the ladies are very well put together, they are casual looking but still very high-end casual, if that makes sense? There is definitely a specific Winchester look.

And now you’re a Wintonian yourself do you find yourself adapting to that Winchester style?

Yes, I think because of the kind of shops here. I still visit Karen Millen and Zara, because they’re my favourites but now Hobbs in Winchester, has it’s NW3 range I absolutely love that, I have a gorgeous pendant with a little ladybird from there. And Jigsaw, Pavillions, Cadogan & James and L.K Bennet, they are all very Winchester. I find that with the ladies I style through SLBStyle’s personal styling service I don’t have to take them up to London to the big departments stores as their own style can be found just as easily on Winchester High Street.

Nails are what you’re known for best, what nail trends this Spring/Summer are going to be hitting the streets of Winchester?

Hot Pot Pink from Art Deco is my current favourite I’m wearing now, and lots of nice brights will be popular, like a gorgeous bright coral called Snap Dragon from Artistic Colour Gloss range. Also lots of pastel colours will be popular for a more paired down look. Nudes are definitely dying a death this season, it’s all about lovely colours now.

Winchester Fashion Week’s theme this year is Best Of British. Who is your favourite British designer and high street brand?

Alexander McQueen, I absolutely totally love him. I have the Louis Vitton Leopard Scarf but the next on my list is the McQueen skull scarf, I want a pink and black one. On the high street I love Hobbs, I always make a bee-line for it. The last thing I bought was the blue jump suit, but I actually cut the little tie around the waist off and added a big chunky waistband, I love to customize. I studied Fashion Design Technology and love to use those skills on my own wardrobe as well as in my business.

words Emily Parrett @NormalityAndMe

Hear some words of wisdom about working with stylists in W/S (Winchester/Style) magazine (available from WFW HQ in The Brooks next to costa from Friday 8th).

Comments
One Response to “Winchester’s Fashionable Women #2”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] To read my full interview head over to Winchester Fashion Week Blog here…  Share this postTwitterFacebookPinterestLinkedInTumblrStumbleUponEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]



Leave a Reply

